book event, influencer event

Indigo YA Preview: Spring 2019 (Influencer Event Recap)

It’s time for another influencer event recap! And this one will be all about the Spring 2019 Indigo YA Preview! I feel so grateful that I was invited, and am still in awe over how great this event was. It was all quite epic, and we looked at a lot of upcoming releases (as you will see as soon as you start scrolling through this post)! Socializing with my fellow bookworms and hearing about awesome upcoming books would have been enough for me, but then our hosts made things even more awesome by providing us with awesome swag bags, and a special surprise at the very end!

Compared to some of our other trips into Toronto, this one was a little less eventful. Well… Milana from A Couple Reads drove, and one of her windshield wiper blades flew off and hit a sign before we left town, haha. Then we went to pick up Danny from The Book Order and had to buy windshield wiper blades where we went to pick him up.

Then we picked up Brittany from Brittany Reads Books and got on the highway where many laughs and bonding over books ensued! (Or also, Milana dubbed herself and her car the BookstaBus, which is pretty funny and still haas me laughing haha!)

We made it to Toronto with time to spare, an decided to wander around close to the Indigo headquarters building. We got some Starbucks, found some cool doors and architecture, and then headed back to Indigo, way too excited for the event to wait any longer. Like last time, we got some time to eat and socialize with our fellow bookworms, and also had time to look at the beautiful displays and take photos!

April 9, 2019 June 4, 2019 July 16, 2019 May 7, 2019
June 4, 2019 July 9, 2019 July 16, 2019 May 28, 2019

April 1, 2019 April 2, 2019 April 2, 2019
May 7, 2019 June 4, 2019 August 6, 2019

May 28, 2019 June 4, 2019 April 2, 2019
June 11, 2019 June 4, 2019 April 9, 2019

August 27, 2019 May 14, 2019 May 7, 2019 June 11, 2019
May 14, 2019 May 28, 2019 April 2, 2019 July 2, 2019

April 2, 2019 April 2, 2019 April 2, 2019
May 7, 2019 June 26, 2019 April 16, 2019
June 11, 2019 May 7, 2019 July 2, 2019 July 16, 2019

April 9, 2019 May 7, 2019 April 2, 2019
May 7, 2019 May 7, 2019 August 6, 2019
May 21, 2019 April 21, 2019 May 21, 2019 June 11, 2019

May 17, 2019 May 31, 2019 April 12, 2019
April 5, 2019 July 4, 2019 April 5, 2019
August 9, 2019 TBD TBD TBD

July 15, 2019 June 4, 2019 May 14, 2019
April 2, 2019 May 7, 2019 April 21, 2019
April 2, 2019 April 2, 2019 May 21, 2019 July 2, 2019

August 30, 2019 July 9, 2019 May 14, 2019
August 6, 2019 June 11, 2019 May 28, 2019
May 14, 2019 May 14, 2019 April 9, 2019 June 4, 2019

May 7, 2019 April 2, 2019 June 25, 2019
April 24, 2019 April 2, 2019 May 7, 2019
April 2, 2019 June 18, 2019 June 25, 2019 August 6, 2019

July 9, 2019 May 14, 2019 April 2, 2019
July 2, 2019 May 21, 2019 June 4, 2019

May 7, 2019 June 4, 2019 July 16, 2019
May 14, 2019 August 6, 2019 May 14, 2019
June 11, 2019 April 9, 2019 July 2, 2019 August 6, 2019

May 7, 2019 May 14, 2019 May 7, 2019
April 23, 2019 May 7, 2019 May 21, 2019
June 18, 2019 April 30, 2019 June 11, 2019 June 4, 2019

August 27, 2019 May 14, 2019 July 9, 2019
July 30, 2019 April 2, 2019 April 9, 2019
May 7, 2019 April 23, 2019 August 20, 2019 June 4, 2019

During the preview we were told about these Penguin Minis which are popular books re-published by Penguin Random House which are the size of a cellphone! So they’re convenient to carry in a pocket or a smaller bag and are like reading from a cellphone screen without the glare and negative impacts of reading from a cellphone screen.

As I mentioned, the swag bags were just incredible! I traded away some of my books, received Love from A to Z by S.K. Ali from a fellow book blogger, and kept the other books in the image below: Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, Dark Shores by Danielle L. Jensen, and Wilder Girls by Rory Power.

In addition to those awesome books, we all also received two book sleeves made by Indigo! They’re called Book Besties (isn’t that cute?!) and they’re great. I happened to get the sleeves that I had wanted, and am very very happy! They have sleeves made of cotton (like the cat one), and vegan leather (like the floral one)! And they also have more designs coming to stores and the online shop very soon!

After the presentation was over, our hosts surprised us by telling us that because they are moving their headquarters, we could all pick any books from the shelves that we wanted. I remember staring, thinking that they were just joking. But then they handed us bags and told us to go pick some books, and we didn’t need to be told again!

Among some of the books that I adopted (hehe) are Stolen Time by Danielle Rollins, We Rule the Night by Claire Eliza Bartlett, White Stag by Kara Barbieri, The Missing Season by Gillian French, The Beholder by Anna Bright, The Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn Herman, and Once & Future by Cori McCarthy and Amy Rose Capetta.

THANK YOU FOR READING MY POST, AND I HOPE THAT YOU ENJOYED READING IT AS MUCH AS I ENJOYED WRITING IT! HAVE YOU EVER ATTENDED A BOOK EVENT LIKE THIS? OR ARE YOU ALREADY A VETERAN WHEN IT COMES TO THESE? WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE PART ABOUT THEM, OR WHAT IS THE THING YOU WOULD LOOK FORWARD TO MOST ABOUT AN EVENT LIKE THIS IF YOU WERE TO ATTEND ONE? LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS!

6 thoughts on “Indigo YA Preview: Spring 2019 (Influencer Event Recap)

    1. For sure! I’m so glad that I started getting invited to these events and that I live close enough to drive there! I know that it’s much harder for other bookworms 🙁

Leave a Comment