arcstravaganza, weekly meme

#ARCstravaganza (#33): Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Happy Monday everyone! And also happy #ARCstravaganza day! I know that a lot of us have been excited for this book. And I can now say that our excitement is well-warranted, because I am currently reading this book, and it is quite good! The cover is also quite gorgeous (even on the ARC), and I cannot wait to get my hands on a finished version! I’ve seen some around, and they are absolutely beautiful! Keep reading to find out more about my pick for this week!

For those of you coming across this meme for this first time, it was originally created by Krysti at YA and Wine, and hosted by her, and Sarah at The Clever Reader. Due to personal circumstances, however, they have had to let it go. We were all very sad to see the meme go, but then Krysti asked me if I wanted to take it over, and I said yes!

For those of you unfamiliar with #ARCstravaganza, it’s a meme meant to encourage book bloggers to show off and discuss their ARCs (advanced reader copies)! If this sounds like something for you, please check out the info page about the meme here. Another change is that #ARCstravaganza participants can share their posts on their blogs, Instagram, or Twitter (or all three)! Please just be sure to tag your social media posts with the hashtag, or share a link to your blog post on my blog post for each week, so that we can find it!

– My ARC Choice –

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

To see the other pics for this meme, go follow me on Instagram!

– About the Book –

Title: Children of Blood and Bone
Author: Tomi Adeyemi
Type: Fiction
Genre: YA, Science Fiction
Publisher: Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
Published: March 6, 2018
Source: Friend

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

– About the Author –


Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. Her debut novel, CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE, comes out March 6th, 2018 and the movie is currently in development at Fox with the producers of Twilight and The Maze Runner attached. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she received a fellowship that allowed her to study West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. When she’s not working on her novels or watching Scandal, she can be found blogging and teaching creative writing to her 3,500 subscribers at Her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writer’s Digest.


12 thoughts on “#ARCstravaganza (#33): Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

  1. loved this, and i can’t wait also to get my hands on my copy, whenever it is it arrives in nigeria for me. i loved the story and the series has so much potential.

    1. Ooooo I hope that you get your copy soon! And yesss I’m really enjoying it so far 🙂 I’m actually audiobooking it right now while doing some work, hehe.

    1. Yaaaay that’s so good to hear! I take it you finished it??? Also, the publisher sent me the audiobook to review, and the narration and performance are really good! 😀 ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. I finished this one recently! I really did like it, but I didn’t love it as much as I expected. I seem to be the only one not RAVING about this book, though, so I’m betting you’ll love it too.

    1. Aweeee I understand what you mean! That has happened to me with other books. And I also haven’t REALLY clicked with any one character yet…

Leave a Comment